The news comes by way of a statement from the former owners of Las Vegas Club, Tamares Group:
“Today we are excited to announce the sale of the Las Vegas Club to Derek and Greg Stevens’ company. The Tamares Group, owner of the Las Vegas Club, and PlayLV, its operator, had been working on various development prospects for the Las Vegas Club, but it is clear that the sale of the property provides a greater opportunity for the future of the company, its staff and the Fremont Street neighborhood.”
The sports-themed Las Vegas Club is expected to close soon for renovations by the new owners.
The Las Vegas Club opened in its current location in 1930. Before that, it was located across Fremont Street and was called the Overland Hotel. In 1911, the Overland Hotel burned down. In the 1940s, the owners decided to move across the street, closer to what was then a train depot. Find more about the fascinating history of the Las Vegas Club on Fremont Street.
Of special note: In 1931, Las Vegas Club was the first casino in Las Vegas to install a neon sign, the second neon sign in all of the city.